DE | EN | RU
 
  • SEAT trading centre, Berlin

    New construction of a flagship store

The new SEAT flagship store in Berlin picks up on the corporate identity of the company

The first SEAT car rolled off the production line on 13 November 1953, thereby marking the beginning of the history of one of Spain’s largest vehicle manufacturers. Today, the company is part of the German Volkswagen Corporation.

Modern styling and technical inspiration

"Technology to enjoy" is the slogan of the car manufacturer, whose new logo is intended to not only reflect the brand design but also the brand’s promise of sophisticated technology and innovation. In consequence, it combines "the passionately dynamic SEAT red" with the company’s "unmistakeable chromium S". The chromium symbol, a symmetrical composition of specially arranged lines, represents modernity and technical inspiration. So does the new flagship store in Berlin, which opened in January 2014 and – with its architecture – exactly replicates this symmetrical composition of specially arranged lines. pbr Planungsbüro Rohling AG was responsible for the overall design of the new building for Volkswagen Immobilien GmbH with a value of EUR 4.2 million.

This new SEAT trading centre at Prenzlauer Promenade 46 in the Berlin district of Pankow, which is the first in Europe to be aligned with the new corporate identity, took two years to complete. The two-storey building has a gross floor area of more than 3,600 m2 and accommodates a showroom, a service and workshop area, a tyre store as well as offices, meeting and staff rooms. The architecture of the new building catches the eye with its generous window fronts and orthogonal footprint, which is contrasted by the diagonal design of the floors and furniture. The facades are clad with anthracite-coloured aluminium sandwich panels. The structure of the main building consists of steel framing in combination with prefabricated concrete elements.

A world of work characterised by openness and generosity

SEAT’s slogan, "Technology to enjoy", conveys the idea of technical precision and passionate design. In the generous showrooms and service area, with two check-in reception desks, the corporate design has been picked up on the ground floor in the form of repeating red elements. Customers are welcomed at a generous service counter and directed to the sales and service staff, whose open work places have been integrated in the exhibition space. The rear part of the building accommodates space for the delivery of vehicles as well as 12 service stations for the technical work carried out in the workshop. The first floor provides space for a store for 1,500 tyres, as well as air-conditioned offices, meeting and staff rooms which are fitted with underfloor heating. Glass partitions have been fitted to separate the area from the gallery, creating an open and transparent working environment for both staff and customers.

 Combining design with sustainability

In view of the fact that SEAT not only prioritises aesthetic design values in the manufacture of automobiles, but also champions sustainability, ecological sustainability was given high priority in the construction of the new flagship store. As a result, the building is connected to a district heating system and the process water used in the workshop is treated so that no wastewater is produced at the new premises. The lighting for the showroom and exterior spaces consists of energy-saving LED lamps.

With the modern new building – with its strong design appeal and sustainability credentials – SEAT sets a marker in Berlin for the new prestige of the brand.

The exhibition room with its full-height two-storey facade faces Prenzlauer Promenade and, with its special lighting concept, attracts the attention of passers-by to the exhibited car models not only during the day but also at night. The large window areas of the bright and open workshop allow passers-by to view the activities taking place.

Completion
12/2013
Total contract sum
4,2 Mio. € (brutto)
Floor area and volume
UFA 2.982 m²
GFA 3.626 m²
GV 15.773 m³
Client
SEAT Deutschland Niederlassung GmbH
services pbr
Gesamtplanung
Show on map
Google Maps

DE | EN | RU
 
  • SEAT-Autohaus, Berlin

    Neubau eines Autohauses

Neubau des SEAT Flagship Stores in Berlin orientiert sich an Corporate Identity des Unternehmens

Am 13. November 1953 rollte der erste SEAT vom Band und legte damit den Grundstein für die Unternehmensgeschichte einer der größten Fahrzeugwagenhersteller Spaniens. Heute gehört das Unternehmen zum deutschen Volkswagenkonzern.

 

Modernität und technische Inspiration

„Technology to enjoy“ lautet der Slogan des Automobilherstellers, dessen neues Logo nicht nur das Markendesign, sondern auch das Markenversprechen für präzise Technologie und Innovation widerspiegeln soll. So vereint es „das leidenschaftlich dynamische SEAT Rot“ mit dem „unverwechselbaren Chrom S“ des Unternehmens. Das Chromsymbol, eine symmetrische Komposition spannungsgeladener Linien, steht dabei für  Modernität und technische Inspiration. Ebenso wie der neue Flagship Store in Berlin, der im Januar 2014 seinen Betrieb aufnahm und mit seiner Architektur genau diese symmetrische Komposition spannungsgeladener Linien wieder aufnimmt. Die pbr AG erstellte die Gesamtplanung für den Neubau der Volkswagen Immobilien GmbH mit einer Bausumme von 4,2 Millionen Euro. 

Innerhalb von zwei Jahren ist der SEAT Handelsplatz, der in Europa als erster der neuen Corporate Identity entspricht, an der Prenzlauer Promenade 46 im Berliner Stadtteil Pankow entstanden. Das zweigeschossige Gebäude beherbergt auf einer Bruttogeschossfläche von mehr als 3.600 m2 neben einem Showroom, einen Service- und Werkstattbereich, Reifenlager sowie Büros, Besprechungs- und Sozialräume. Die Architektur des Neubaus ist gekennzeichnet durch seine großzügigen Fensterfronten und eine orthogonale Grundform, die durch eine diagonale Boden- und Möbelstruktur konterkariert wird. Die Fassadenflächen wurden mit anthrazitfarbenen Aluminiumverbundpaneelen verkleidet. Der Neubau wurde als Stahltragskonstruktion in Kombination mit Betonfertigteilen errichtet.

 

Großzügigkeit und Offenheit prägen die Arbeitswelt

„Technology to enjoy“, der Slogan von SEAT steht für technologische Präzision und leidenschaftliches Design. Innerhalb des großzügigen Showrooms und des Servicebereichs mit zwei Plätzen zur Dialogannahme wird das Design im Erdgeschoss in Form von wiederkehrenden roten Elementen aufgenommen. Hier werden Kunden an einem großzügigen Servicetresen empfangen und zu den Verkaufs- oder Servicemitarbeitern, deren offene Arbeitsplätze in den Ausstellungsraum integriert wurden, geleitet. Technisch präzise Arbeit hingegen ermöglichen die 12 Werkstattarbeitsplätze und Räumlichkeiten für die Fahrzeugauslieferung, die im rückwertigen Bereich angeordnet sind. Die mit einer Fußbodenheizung ausgestatteten und klimatisierten Büros, Besprechungs- und Sozialräume sowie ein Lager für 1.500 Reifen befinden sich im Obergeschoss. Die Abtrennung zur Galerie erfolgt durch Glastrennwände, so dass eine offene und transparente Arbeitswelt für Mitarbeiter und Kunden geschaffen wurde.

 

Der Ausstellungraum mit seiner raumhohen zweigeschossigen Fassade orientiert sich zur Prenzlauer Promenade und lenkt nicht nur am Tag, sondern durch das besondere Beleuchtungskonzept auch in der Nacht die Aufmerksamkeit der Vorbeifahrenden auf die ausgestellten Automodelle. Große Fensterflächen im Bereich der hell und offen gestalteten Werkstatt bieten auch hier Einblicke auf die dortigen Tätigkeiten.

Design und Nachhaltigkeit vereint

Da der Automobilhersteller SEAT nicht nur Wert auf Design, sondern auch auf Nachhaltigkeit legt, wurde beim Bau des neuen Flagship Stores besondere Priorität auch auf ökologische Nachhaltigkeit gelegt. So wird das Gebäude mit Fernwärme versorgt und das Brauchwasser der Werkstatt aufbereitet, so dass für den Neubau das Prinzip des „abwasserfreien Autohauses“ gilt. Für die Beleuchtung des Showrooms und der Außenanlagen werden außerdem stromsparende LEDs eingesetzt.

 

Mit dem modernen Neubau, der alle Funktionen mit einem hohen Anspruch an Design und Nachhaltigkeit vereint, setzt SEAT in Berlin ein Zeichen für die neue Repräsentanz der Marke.

Projektinformationen

Fertigstellung
12/2013
Gesamtbausumme
4,2 Mio. € (brutto)
Flächen und Rauminhalte
NF 2.982 m²
BGF 3.626 m²
BRI 15.773 m³
Bauherr
SEAT Deutschland
Niederlassung GmbH
Leistungen pbr
Gesamtplanung
Auf Karte zeigen
Google Maps